Tags

, , , ,

Strawberry Basil Salad

I recently read a book called French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano. I didn’t necessarily agree with everything in the book but I did enjoy it and it has definitely inspired me to get more creative with my diet. This post is not a book review so I’m not going to be summarizing the whole book for you -I’m just going to share a couple of ideas from the book that I really thought were awesome.

One thing she talks about is that French women eat small portions of many things that are fresh, natural, and full of flavor. She suggests trying different spices or herbs with a familiar dish to mix things up a bit or preparing a fruit or vegetable in a way you don’t normally do -but to keep it simple. Having a variety of delicious, satisfying food that is easy to prepare allows you to more easily maintain a healthy weight or lose weight without feeling like you’re depriving yourself.

Today I’m guest posting on my amazing cousin Ashlee’s blog: I’ll Love You Forever. To read the rest of my post and to get my Strawberry Basil Salad recipe, click here.